Series Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Maas

To the stars who listen and the dreams that are answered”  – A Court of Mist and Fury

This story follows the character of Feyre, a young huntress struggling to feed her two sisters and injured father until one night she makes a kill that will change her life forever. Swept up into a life within the Fae country of Prythian, Feyre must guard her heart and life as she makes allies, enemies and faces hard decisions. The books in this series are A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin.


One of the things that really took me by surprise was how real these books were about abusive relationships. In the first book, even I thought that the main love story was the one that would last throughout the series, but the second book changed that as the author portrayed a relationship built on control and manipulation. It’s hard to get readers to become as blinded as the characters to certain traits in a person but Sarah J Maas pulled it off really well, revealing the warning signs to the reader when the character realized what was going on.

Something that was really neat was that this series was supposed to be inspired by Beauty and the Beast but took on a whole personality of its own. The world of Prythian evolves with each story and readers get a glimpse into new places and meet new characters as the series continues. The characters have unique and particular personalities that make it easy to appreciate different traits of each one, just like the appreciation of certain personality types in real life.

The themes that come up in this series are about empowerment- empowerment in leaving unhealthy relationships, strength in sacrifice and family, and the power of hope. The family types that are shown in this series are anything but perfect, something that reflects the reality of this world. Even through the sticky situations, though, Feyre’s family comes through, and she stays determinedly loyal to them. And with every battle, every bump in the journey, the characters cling to hope, however small it may be.


Something I was not expecting was the amount of steamy scenes in these books. I was able to overlook some of them because the story was so intriguing but I don’t think I would read this series again without skipping over those pages (or chapters). Fair warning, sometimes comments, remarks, or just dialogue pop up that you don’t expect in a young adult series (the UK version has a warning on it for mature content, as it should). This was the biggest and really only negative because it is not simply just in one book but all three, becoming more intense and graphic with each book. I would not recommend reading this series unless you skipped those scenes.

Pages to skip

ACOTAR: 245-248, 378-380, 411-412.

ACOMAF: 21-25, 368, 409-417, 472-476,  Chapter 55.

ACOWAR: 136-143, 311-314, 516.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 917 other subscribers